A Small Decision Is Still a Decision..

Choices, decisions, and options – they happen over and over all day, every day. There is an occasional big one that comes along, like “Should I hire that new CIO who will want to spend a lot of money?” But most are small choices. Still, no decision is too small for our consideration. Seemingly small decisions are often the ones that make a big difference. Deferring or avoiding a decision, however minor it may seem, could carry consequences and make for a life of coulda’s, woulda’s, shoulda’s.

Small decisions are like empty airline seats: once the plane takes off, it’s too late for the airline to worry about filling the seat. If that small decision is not made, it is quickly too late to worry about what could have been. Any decision, big or small, that is not made is another step into hell.

It is clear to me that a successful CEO is one who has learned to make decisions. It’s taken for granted that the big choices are worth the attention they receive. We agonize over them, analyze them, consult with gurus over them, chart them, and – admit it – we all make lists of pros and cons about those big choices. And we should. The everyday, seemingly little choices deserve a little space in the brain, too, and should not be relegated to the “whatever” dumper.

Our natural tendency is to defer choices whenever we can, like my client who proclaimed “whatever” when it came to the operator centers with thousands of job losses in the balance.

When my kids were little, I would give them a choice at bedtime: you can either go to bed, or you can take a bath and go to bed. That set of choices didn’t last long because soon they chose neither. The choices are usually not so clear in the workplace for the CEO.

Photo Credit: Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images

http://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article/20130418213946-10878085-a-small-decision-is-still-a-decision

About Arun Mishra

“We often becomes what we believes ourself to be. If I keep on saying to myself that I cannot do a certain thing, it is possible that I may end by really becoming incapable of doing it. On the contrary, if I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.” SO, “If you put your effort and concentration into playing to your potential, to be the best that you can be, I don't care what the scoreboard says at the end of the game, in my book we're gonna be winners. Because "I feel like my wings are finally coming back. They were broken, and there was a point where I thought I was confined to this earth. But I feel like they're back now. And I'm excited to fly again. And sure, there are going to be bad and tough times. I can easily see them now but that's not a reason to stay on the ground. Everyone has to fall sometime but no matter how long it takes you, you eventually get tired of dragging your feet through the mud, and you get up and find your wings have healed and they ache to fly again. So I'll fly, I'll fall, I'll get back up, and I'll live."
This entry was posted in LinkedIn Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

